Philly - Philadelphia


What’s up everybody?

I’m back at my blog. ;) Yesterday my host sisters (including Sara) and I got up at 2 in the morning to drive to the Atlanta Airport. Then we took a flight to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Here we met my host mom. We were all very tired so we decided to take it easy and just went to a couple of malls to go shopping. One of these was the King of Prussia Mall which is the second biggest mall in the entire country. Later we had lunch at a place called “The Cheesecake Factory” where they serve not only normal food but also all different kinds of cheesecake. I tried a little of the Oreo Cheesecake, the Red Velvet Cheesecake, and the Chocolate Cheesecake.

Today we went sightseeing in Philadelphia. As you might know it is the city where the United States Declaration of Independence as well as the US Constitution were debated and signed. If you have seen the movie “National Treasure” (or in German: “Das Vermächtnis der Tempelritter”; an dieser Stelle liebe Grüße und vielen Dank an Papiii ;)) then you might remember the Liberty Bell (one of the final steps in clearing up the mystery). But that bell is only one of the things we saw today. We also visited the Philadelphia Museum of Art with the famous “Rocky Steps” in front of it and we ran ran up all the stairs until we were at the top with the foot prints of Rocky’s Converse. Furthermore we took a sightseeing hop-on-hop-off-bus to the Eastern State Penitentiary. This was one of the first prisons in America’s history and they turned it into one of the best museums I’ve ever been to. We could walk through it and into the cells, our audio guide played the real voices of former prisoners and guards, and they had an exhibition about prisons today compared to the ESP. It was really interesting but also a little scary. I would definitely say that this was today’s highlight for me.

Right now we’re in the car on our way to New York City where we will spend the next days.

Let me know what’s going on in good ole Germany in the comments below.

Yours Lea

Write a comment

Comments: 2
  • #1

    Janina (Saturday, 27 October 2018 10:31)

    Hey, sounds like you really have a lot of fun and your host family is very nice. It is so cool that you can see so many different parts of the country. I wish you a lot of fun in New York City and I hope you enjoy your time as much as I do

  • #2

    Daddy O.� (Saturday, 27 October 2018 17:22)

    Hi Lea,

    I am very happy to read your update here.

    That‘s really great what you can see and „Danke für die � Blumen�“.

    Really nice pictures�.

    Enjoy your time and best regards to your host sisters & mom.

    All the best for you All.

    HDGDL�