My Everyday Life

Aaalright... I know it’s been some time since I last posted a blog entry and I don’t even know what the last thing I told you was, but now I have time to give you a little update about my life here.

By now I‘m used to my school routine and my everyday life. In the mornings I (try to) get up around 6:30 am, get ready for school and have breakfast. Then around one hour later we leave for school (Paige drives). School starts at 8:00 am here, almost like at my school in Germany. 

My first block is US History which is one of the classes I had to pick. History has never been my favorite subject but it’s actually interesting to learn about how the United States came to be and because I’ve been in the bilingual class, which means that I’ve had history lessons in English for the past four years, it’s not that hard for me to understand. 

As soon as the 85 minutes of History class are over I have exactly 6 minutes to get to my second block - Intro to Health Care. 6 minutes might sound long but it’s pretty hard to get to class on time if that class is at the other end of the school. Since every single student of the school has to change rooms at the same time there are many many people in the hall which is why the school management has hung up arrows showing the students where they are allowed to turn left or right.😂

Health care is one of my “fun classes” which I picked because it sounded interesting. Unfortunately we have only done a lot of copying from the textbook and studying medical terminology. I hope that with time we’ll start doing more practical work.

After health care my way to my third block isn’t very far, and I’m usually the first person to be in the room. My third block is Intro to Graphic Design which I picked because the counselor told me it was mostly about Adobe Photoshop. Well... so far it isn’t about photoshop at all... but the teacher is super nice, he’s lived in Germany when he was younger and he’s very open and happy. During third block is the best time of the day - at 12:22 we leave for lunch😍! We have about twenty minutes to enjoy the lunch we brought at the cafeteria, some people buy their lunch there but I don’t really like the food there. After we return to class the block is nearly over. 

My last class is American Literature (also one of the classes I had to pick). I think this is my favorite class although it’s probably the hardest for me to understand. The fourth block ends at 2:30 pm. At that time all the bus riders are released. About ten minutes later, when all the busses have left, also us car riders may go. 

Monday through Thursday I have Cross Country practice after school. It starts at 3 pm and ends at 4:30 pm. Except for Wednesdays, this is the day where students can see their teachers after school to talk about problems and questions they have about the classes, we start at 3:45 and finish at 4:45 pm. At practice we usually run about 2-3 miles and then do something for our legs, like sprints or stadiums.

When I come home from school I like going to the pool to calm down a little. After that I take a shower and then I have to do my homework and study for tests which are usually on Fridays.

My after-school-schedule for Fridays is a little different from the other weekdays. Because we don’t have practice Sara and I go to the rec center for about one hour. There I usually work out with the fitness equipment for some time and after that I join Sara playing basketball. I’m still not good at it but I enjoy trying to get better.😅

Friday nights our school often has football games to which my friends and I are going. Every game has a different theme, we’ve had a white out, a black out and tie-dye so far. I think the theme of the next game is “American colors”.

I think that’s all I have to say for now. 
-Lea

Write a comment

Comments: 6
  • #1

    Seth (Monday, 03 September 2018 04:25)

    Good job girllll I see you with the blog! See you at school Tuesday!

  • #2

    Mamiiii (Monday, 03 September 2018 14:54)

    You will never have one (every)day again, so make it count :-)

  • #3

    Olaf G. - Father (Tuesday, 04 September 2018 21:05)

    Hi Le,
    So many things to read.

    I sounds not so easy, but You enjoy. Great :-)

    Have a very good time with much more blogs like this for us ;-) .

    Thank you.

    Bussi Oli

  • #4

    Britta (Saturday, 08 September 2018 09:57)

    Hallo Lea, schön, immer mal etwas über die interessante Zeit von dir zu hören. Liebe Grüße Britta

  • #5

    De kleene Brudiii (Sunday, 16 September 2018 09:52)

    Wow, your schedule seems pretty interesting. And the photos are soo nice. Enjoy your time there�

  • #6

    Bruni (Friday, 21 September 2018 10:05)

    Dear Lea,
    thank you for your detailed story from your daily life ! Read with great Enthusiasm your achievements,and the beautiful,cheerful pictures speak for themselves !!
    From th heart countless
    Berlin greetings from Bruni